IBA 2017


Professor Zempachi Ogumi

Prof. Zempachi Ogumi graduated from Kyoto University in 1970, and worked at Kyoto University from 1976 (full professor from 1992), and retired from Kyoto University in 2009.

He has long devoted his life to battery research and development. With his philosophy of "Minor parasitic reactions are important in LIBs", his first effort was devoted to the understanding of the solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) on carbon anodes, on which he introduced a variety of "in situ" analytical techniques early in 1990s. He also focused on the factors determining the charge-transfer rates at the electrode/electrolyte interfaces of insertion electrodes, and proposed the importance of the de-solvation processes in the insertion reactions. These research results have stimulated many other researchers in this field, and have made significant contributions to battery industries.

After retired in 2009, he organized a NEDO R&D Initiative for Scientific Innovation of New Generation Batteries (RISING) project, and took a great leadership as a project leader for 7 years. He contributed the development of various innovative in situ and operando techniques for batteries and battery materials. Another mission in his project was to develop innovative "beyond lithium-ion batteries". These include Zn/air, Li/a-TiS3, and fluoride-shuttle batteries. These achievements have been presented as a countless number of invited lectures in many international and domestic meetings, and have been published in 399 peer-reviewed papers.

He has also played important roles in many academic societies; e.g., Chairperson of The Committee of Battery Technology, Japan (1998-2001), Member-at-Large of the Executive Committee of Battery Division, ECS (USA) (1993-2010), The President of the Electrochemical Society of Japan (2007), President of IBA (2009-2011), etc. He organized many exciting international and domestic meetings: e.g. The 12th IMLB in Nara (2014), The 1st ACEPS in Kyoto (2006), The 2nd ABAA in Kyoto (2009), etc. He is also well-known as an Editor of Journal of Power Sources, Elsevier (1999-2016). Owing to these scientific and academic contributions, he has been awarded from many academic societies.

to top of page